Planets and their Satellites (Moons)

July 26, 2018


There are total 8 planets in our solar system & all the planets revolve around the sun in the anticlockwise direction i.e. West to East except Venus & Uranus, they both revolve in the clockwise direction i.e. East to West.

Inner planet or Terrestrial Planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars.

Outer planet or Jovian planet : Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune.

List of planets according to their Size: Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Earth, Venus, Mars, Mercury.

Dwarf Planets: Pluto, Ceres, Eris, Makemake, Haumea.

The Solar System’s planets and officially recognized dwarf planets are known to be orbited by 194 natural satellites, or moons. 19 moons in the Solar System are large enough to be gravitationally rounded, and thus would be considered planets or dwarf planets if they were in direct orbit around the Sun.

Moons are classed in two separate categories according to their orbits: regular moons, which have prograde orbits (they orbit in the direction of their planets’ rotation) and lie close to the plane of their equators, and irregular moons, whose orbits can be pro- or retrograde (against the direction of their planets’ rotation) and often lie at extreme angles to their planets’ equators. Irregular moons are probably minor planets that have been captured from surrounding space. Most irregular moons are less than 10 kilometers (6.2 mi) in diameter.

All | #
There are currently 8 names in this directory
1. Mercury
It is the smallest planet.
Fastest revolution time.
It has no satellite and it has no atmosphere.
Extreme weather +400°C & –200°C.
Mercury is also known as Roman God of Commerce.

2. Venus
It is the hottest planet known as Earth’s Twin.
The brightest planet is also known as morning & evening star.
Venus is also known as Roman Goddess of Beauty.

3. Earth
It is called Blue Planet (71% - Water)
It has One Satellite → Moon

4. Mars
It is called Red Planet because of high Content of FeO.
Nix Olympia is a mountain spotted of Mars & it is 3 times higher than Mountain Everest.
It has two Satellites Phobos and Deimos.
It is also known as Roman God of war.

5. Jupiter
It is the Biggest planet [Fastest rotation]
It has 63 Satellite and the biggest one is Ganymede.
Callisto is the second-largest moon of Jupiter
It is also known as Roman King of God.

6. Saturn
2nd largest planet only planet with Ring (dust particle)
It has 62 Satellites and the biggest one is Titan.
It is also known as Roman God of Agriculture.

7. Uranus
It is called Green Planet because of presence Methane gas.
Uranus has five major moons: Miranda, Ariel, Umbriel, Titania, and Oberon.
They range in diameter from 472 km for Miranda to 1578 km for Titania.
There are 27 known Satellites and the biggest one is Titania.
It is also known as Ancient Greek God.

8. Neptune
It is the Coldest planet.
There are 14 Satellite and the biggest one is Triton.
It is also called as Roman God of Sea.

Related Posts

No Comments

Comments are closed.